Falling into homecoming


Courtesy of Mike Oldenburg Photography

Queen Top: Annika Andrix, Sabella Maas, Lily Sampson, Libby Janka, Lindsay Bangs and Grace Wolfe Queen Front: Wilo Omot, Emma Klemmensen, Sarah Kingland, Emma Dahnert, Grace Linders and Sydney Hunst King Back: Payton Beyer, Zach Stransky, Lane Versteeg, Jack Titchenal, Zach Kubicek King Middle: Matt Seykora, Jonny Wall, Sam Buegler, Nolan Burmeister and Brayden Truelson King Front: Dominic Nelson, Ashton Jensen, Lincoln Maher, Connor Budach

Bella Anderson, Writer

This year’s homecoming celebration will look a little different than years prior, but it will certainly be one to remember. The theme this year is fall into homecoming. The homecoming committee has been working hard planning activities and dress-up days that are safe for students to participate in during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Student council chairman Lauren Thamert said, “Homecoming is all about tradition so we tried to stick to the main events, but we’re excited to introduce new ones like movie night on the football field. I honestly think homecoming will be chaotic but still fun. It’s not the homecoming everyone wants, but I think we have a great week planned.”

This year there will be an outdoor volleyball tournament at Lava Burger, an outdoor movie on the football field, and a downtown cruise past local shops that OHS sports teams and clubs have decorated.

OHS Student Council Adviser Mrs. Justice said, “Our student council worked to plan events that students would want to come to and yet make sure to be mindful of keeping everyone safe. We are working hard to make this a great week and do it smart and mindfully.”

This year’s Top 12 Candidates were announced on the OHS StudCo Instagram page last week. This year’s candidates for Homecoming Queen are Annika Andrix, Lindsay Bangs, Emma Dahnert, Emma Klemmensen, Sydney Hunst, Libby Janka, Sarah Kingland, Grace Linders, Sabella Mass, Wilo Omot, Lily Sampson, Grace Wolfe. 

Homecoming King candidates are Connor Budach, Samuel Buegler, Nolan Burmeister, Ashton Jensen, Zackary Kubicek, Dominic Nelson, Lincoln Maher, Matthew Seykora, Zach Stransky, Jack Titchenal, Brayden Truelson, Lane Versteeg, Payton Beyer, Jonathan Wall.

 Information is emailed to student email accounts or information about how voting and activity registration continues via Google forms.